關於

 

日月不住空画的創作概念,均以中國畫技法及形態美學的核心精神為依歸。透過色彩和畫面,畫家以中國畫技法為主幹、揉合了日式浮世繪及當代插畫技法,演示出中國畫傳統美學中的優雅、隱晦和陰陽的神髓。

不再拘泥於傳統的山水花鳥等題材,以一些捕捉當代社會文化、生活風貌及宗教等題材的”小品”形式作品,重新把當代中國藝術的可塑性表現出來。藉著以”小品”畫的結構式形,希望觀賞者可對當代中國畫有更新和更深的體會。

猶如蓮花不著水 亦如日月不住空

Self-Portrait

陳海慈,隨鄭天鶴老師門下,於其畫室習國畫及西畫。受鄭老師對"非只授其技法,亦授其繪畫精神"的教學態度影响, 於此對繪畫展開了追求和探索的旅程。

她的作品均以中國水墨畫傳統技法為本,滲入西方畫風及文化,並加有現代生活思維,以一個嶄新的面孔,去演繹現代人對中國藝術的體現。她希望觀賞者能夠摒除一貫對傳統中國水墨畫觀念的匡匡, 可以看到中國畫並非一定被拘泥於傳統的題材,更不應被拘泥於任何創作方法或模式。以達至一個完全是可新、可舊,可傳統、可現代的概念。 一個完全沒有規限的世界。

作品就是她對生命的訴說,畫紙是她的日常生活筆記本。透過色彩和畫面,她把這些淡淡的微妙日常情感放在畫紙上,不多不少、沒有偏差。也許觀賞者在畫面的某一小角落裡,會找到生活的著跡和那一點點的存在見証。

隨了淡淡的日常,音樂和書本總是她創作靈感的來源。能劇的美學、浮世繪的色彩、小泉八雲的《怪談》和屈原瑰麗的《九歌》,驅使她開始創作了一個又一個系列。《鬼》和《九歌》便是要帶觀賞者細看這些傳統故事如何在畫紙上跳起舞來。

她的作品曾於香港和日本不同畫展展出。她首個個人作品展《墨縈心跡》於2014年香港中文大學展開。她亦分別於2017年展出兩個個展,名題為《當下之間》和《對照》。

 

copyright © 2012-2017 Mavis CHAN

About

 

EXPEDIRE is a voyage to explore a new paradigm, celebrating the essence of elegance, subtlety and yin-yang of the traditional aesthetics in Chinese painting. The Artist draws inspiration from colors and subject compositions of uKiyo-e style and contemporary illustration techniques,  breaking away from the accustomed theme of heavily landscape and nature focus of classical Chinese art.

 

Through various works, the possibilities of the contemporary Chinese art are reintroduced. Meanwhile, the Artist hopes to present the audiences who accustomed to common notions of Chinese painting traditions with a fresh and new interpretation through the small piece style of the artistic creation.

猶如蓮花不著水 亦如日月不住空

Self-Portrait

Mavis Chan (陳海慈)practices different genres of Chinese painting and western painting. She studied drawing and painting through the "master-student" mode at Mr Cheng Tin Hok's (鄭天鶴) studio. It was where she started her endless journey of exploration of new presentation of Chinese painting by implying the traditional painting technique into the rather "unconventional" topics.

She hopes the audiences can see the Chinese painting is not just landscape, flower & bird or portrait; or even not just made by traditional medium. With the mixture of different cultures and synchronizing the contemporary technology, the possibilities of the contemporary Chinese art are reintroduced. Without an absolute answer, her works can be traditional or not traditional; modern or not modern. It is just anything the audiences may perceive - a world without boundary.

Her works is her statement of life. Painting paper is her notebook of daily life. The collections of work are just like the images imprinted in the minds between the breaths and moments. Music and book are always her sources of inspiration. Fantasized by the Chinese and Japanese traditional art and culture (Noh 能, woodblock print, ukioy-e 浮世繪, ghost stories (Kaidan怪談) by Mr. Patrick Lafcadio Hearn 小泉 八雲, ancient poetry (Nine songs 九歌) by Qu Yuan 屈原, etc.), she started doing a series of ghost and quirky paintings. “Ghost" and "Nine songs" are the collections to let the audiences to interweave into her heart of hearts where to see how those uttermost magnificent stories dancing on the paper.

Her works have been exhibited in local and international exhibitions. She had her first solo exhibition, Inkling of the heart, in 2014. In 2017, she had two solo exhibitions – Interlude and Contrapunctus.

 

<中文版>

copyright © 2012-2017 Mavis CHAN